My lil sis!

During my time of transition and becoming a fully natural haired sista, I have watched the unfortunate damage my sister’s hair has endured at the hands of my mother. Now don’t get me wrong I love my mum to bits but she is still uneducated in looking after my sister’s natural hair.

On Sunday morning (after a long day at the Naturally Fabulous annual natural hair meet up, organised by The Natural Lounge (I will be posting my thoughts on the event very soon), then having to go and work an 8 hour shift at work) I was rudely awoken by the evil sounds of the family blowdryer! My first and initial instinct was “Oh My Life” my mum is blowing out my sister’s hair!!!”
And low and behold, I saw my sister cross legged on the floor with streams of steam coming off her delicate tresses with pain on her face. And to top it off mum was layering her hair with a petroleum “hair conditioning” pomade. With all the knowlegde I have learnt so far, it was breaking my heart to watch such a crime happening on such an innocent person.

“Mum! That cream is not good for her hair!” I said it repeatadly, but she just ignored me (until she got irratated by my moaning).

So with the products I purchased (as well as the freebies I received) I attempted to rescue my baby sister precious locks. I re-shampooed her hair with Philip Kingsley Moisture Shampoo to remove the evil that was the petroleum jelly and conditioned it with . By the way her hair was already feeling, I could see that it was thanking me.

As I styled her hair with Mmm…Hair Moisturising Conditioner, I love Afro Shea Moisture Lotion and Pretty Curls Vanilla Cream hair and body butter, I asked her why she hadn’t woke me to do her hair. My lil sis is a considerate person and knew I was tired from work. I then for the first time ever in my life braided her her into a flat twist style.

Whilst doing her hair I asked her to feel it and tell me what she thought. She liked it. It was soft. Healthy. For a long time her hair had been starved of the right nutrients. I also asked her what she wanted to do with her hair. And there it was society yet again rearing its ugly head.

“I want it to grow long so I can relax it”

That was hard to hear but not unexpected. Society still rears internal dis-satisfaction in even the youngest of minds. As I finished her hair, I once again asked her opinion.

“I like it. Its cute”

From this reaction I know that with the right knowledge, education and support from myself I can help my sister realise that not only is her hair beautiful the way it is but to also embrace its endless possibilities.

Stay blessed

Xxx

(P.S. I will be writing a post on the products I’ve used so far during my transition. These will include the ones mentioned above)

Leave a comment